36.—Sixteenth Ministry of Ontario, as at Oct. 31, 1959

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 11, 1959: 71 Progressive Conservative, 22 Liberal and 5 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation.)

Note.—Ministers are shown at date of original appointment as a Minister and at date of appointment to present portfolio, despite the formation of a new Ministry consequent upon the appointment of a new Premier.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment	
Premier and President of the Council	Hon. Leslie M. Frost. Hon. Charles Daley. Hon. William A. Goodfellow. Hon. Louis P. Ceclie. Hon. McKinnon Phillips. Hon. William J. Dunlop. Hon. William K. Warrender. Hon. James N. Allan. Hon. William M. Nickle. Hon. Bryan L. Cathcast. Hon. Bryan L. Cathcast. Hon. Ray Connell. Hon. Matthew B. Dymond. Hon. J. W. Spooner. Hon. J. W. Spooner. Hon. John Yaremko.	Aug. 17, 1943 Aug. 17, 1943 Jan. 7, 1946 Sept. 17, 1948 Aug. 8, 1950 Oct. 2, 1951 Jan. 20, 1953 Jan. 5, 1955 Jan. 20, 1953 Aug. 17, 1955 Aug. 17, 1955 Aug. 17, 1955 Aug. 17, 1955 July 18, 1957 July 18, 1957 July 18, 1957 Apr. 28, 1958	May 4, 1949 Aug. 17, 1943 Aug. 1, 1956 Dec. 22, 1958 Oct. 2, 1951 Nov. 1, 1956 Apr. 28, 1958 Aug. 17, 1955 Aug. 17, 1955 Dec. 22, 1958 Dec. 22, 1958 July 23, 1958 Dec. 22, 1958 Dec. 22, 1958 Dec. 22, 1958 Dec. 22, 1958	
mission Minister of Mines. Minister of Reform Institutions. Minister without Portfolio Minister without Portfolio	Hon, ROBERT MACAULAY. Hon, JAMES A, MALONEY. Hon, GEORGE C, WARDROPE. Hon, JOHN P, ROBARTS. Hon, JOHN ROOT.	Dec. 22, 1958	May 5, 1959 Dec. 22, 1958 Dec. 22, 1958 Dec. 22, 1958 Dec. 22, 1958	

¹ Minister not necessarily sworn in on date of appointment.

Subsection 7.—Manitoba

Besides a Lieutenant-Governor, Manitoba has an Executive Council at present composed of nine members and a Legislative Assembly of 57 members elected for a statutory term of five years.

The Premier of the province is paid a salary of \$10,000 per annum and each of the other members of the Cabinet \$8,000. Members of the Legislature are each paid an indemnity of \$2,000 and an expense allowance of \$1,000. The Leader of the Opposition is paid an additional amount of \$2,500 and the Speaker of the Legislature receives an amount double the indemnity and expense allowance of an individual member.

37.—Lieutenant-Governors of Manitoba since Confederation, 1870-1959

Name	Date of Commission	Name		Date of Commission		
Hon. A. G. Archibald. Hon. Francis Goodschall Johnson. Hon. Alexander Morris. Hon. Joseph E. Cauchon. Hon. James C. Aikins. Hon. J. C. Schultz. Hon. J. C. Patterson. Hon. Sir Daniel H. McMillan. Hon. Sir Daniel H. McMillan.	Apr. 9, 1872 Dec. 2, 1872 Oct. 8, 1877 Sept. 29, 1882 July 1, 1888 Sept. 2, 1895 Oct. 10, 1900	Hon. Sir Douglas C. Cameron. Hon. Sir James A. M. Aikins. Hon. Sir James A. M. Aikins. Hon. Theodore A. Budrows. Hon. J. D. McGregor. Hon. William Johnston Tupper. Hon. Roland Fairbairn McWilliams. Hon. John Stewart McDiarmid.	Aug. Oct. Oct. Jan. Dec. Nov.	3, 17, 9, 25, 1,		

¹ Second term.